There is a lot of great stuff in R81.10. As more people are moving to it they are seeing that SmartConsole now automatically updates itself by default.
This is covered briefly in SK171315 along with possible admin-rights that might interrupt the update, as well as how to disable this feature.
When there is an update you will see a notification in the top left of SmartConsole:
You can continue working if you want, or have it re-launch with the updated version. As you can see in the screenshot above, there is the option to re-use your credentials. I have had this show-up several times now, and have used “Relaunched Now” without issues.
So far this is a very cool new feature.